No-one likes a know it all.

I was talking with my husband last night about holidays we want to take in the next couple of years, and he was looking at a travel website while we were talking.

He showed me a picture and said “This looks nice. It’s in Italy apparently.” 

I looked and said “Oh,  I think that’s Sorrento. It’s meant to be lovely. You can take a boat over to Capri, there are great views of Vesuvius, and some lovely drives along the coast.” 

He asked how I knew when I’d never been, and I told him it’s because I am Very Clever and actually take time out of my busy life to learn about the world, and maybe he should read more. 

He then said “Oh, hang on,  I bet you know about it from one of those crappy books you read. You know, the ones where there’s a girl who doesn’t realise how pretty she is, and then she opens a bookshop and finds love.” 

I raised my eyebrows and opened my mouth to give a scathing reply, then realised that that’s exactly how I know about Sorrento.  So I muttered “She opened a cafe actually.” and flounced off to eat nutella on toast. 

ea491bc098320cb23f84c0efaa69c092-sorrento

Leave a Reply

